Usool e Deen - Roots of Religion

The theology of Shia Islam contains five Principles of the Religion known as Uṣool e Dīn. Usool e Deen (أصول الدين) is an Arabic Islamic term which literally translates as ‘foundation of the faith’, roughly interpretable as ‘theology’. There are five articles of faith in the Shi’a Roots of Religion.


1. Tawheed Tawheed

Tawheed (Arabic: توحيد), is the belief in the oneness and unshared divinity of God,and is the most fundamental belief of Shias and, all Muslims at large. It is the worshiping of Allah (swt) as the sole deity worthy of worship. In Shi’ite sources, a special emphasis has been placed on the incomparability of God to humans or any other entity and, therefore, Shias reject notions such as anthropomorphism.

The belief of Tawheed suggests that Allah is One, Alone, Peerless, Eternal, without Beginning or End; He is the First and the Last. He is the All-Knowing, the Wise , the Just, the Living, the Omnipotent, Independent of all things, the All-Hearing, the All-Seeing. He is not to be likened to His creatures, therefore He has neither body nor appearance nor substance nor form; He is neither heavy nor light, neither moving nor motionless; He has no place nor any time, and no-one can point to Him as there is no thing like Him. Nothing is equal to Him, nor has He any opposite. He has no wife, no child, no partner and there is none comparable to Him. Vision does not perceive Him, yet He perceives everything


2. Adal adal

The Shia Muslims believe that there is intrinsic good or evil in things, and that God commands them to do the good things and forbade the evil. They believe that God acts according to a purpose or design, and human reason cannot comprehend this design or purpose in its entirety (though man must always strive to understand as much as he can).


3. Nabuwwat Nabuwwat


Nabuwwat means “Prophethood” and denotes that God has appointed Prophets and Messengers to teach mankind God’s message.

God has appointed prophets and messengers to teach mankind the religion (that is, a perfect system of how to live in “peace” or “submission to God”). Prophets are Messengers which are appointed by Allah to bring the message of God to people and spread that message while the Imam (leader) is appointed by Allah to protect that message since ordinary people will fail to do so. Also, as Muhammad was the last messenger of God which means the message he brought was the last and final message to the people from Allah, none is supposed to bring a message from Allah after Muhammad, therefore, if people were left with the message alone, the true message could not survive long and would have undergone changes. Imams were therefore appointed to take care of the message and prevent people from going astray after the last prophet.


4. Imamat


Imamat (Leadership): God has appointed specific leaders to lead and guide mankind—a prophet appoints a custodian of the religion before his demise. Refer to Sahih Al-Bukari, Sahih Muslim, The prophet is reported to have said that the Islamic leadership is in Quraysh (i.e. his tribe) and twelve Imams (also called “Princes” or “Caliphs”) shall succeed him.

Muslims believe in Twelve Imams, eleven of whom were killed, but they believe their twelfth Imam is still alive. History says that he disappeared after performing rituals of the eleventh Imam’s (his father’s) death. He is still under “ghaybat” or “occultation” and will appear on the face of the earth to raise the truth and bring an end to tyranny and oppression.


5. Qayamat


Yaum al-Qiyâmah (يوم القيامة; “Day of the Resurrection” (Quran 71.18), also known as “the Hour (Quran 31.34, 74.47)”, “Day of the Account“, (Quran 72.130 “Day of the Gathering“, “Day of the Reckoning“, “Day of Distress“, (Quran 74.9) and the “Great Announcement“) is the Arabic name for the Last Judgement. Belief in Qiyâmah is part of Aqidah and is a fundamental tenet of faith in Islam. After the annihilation of this world, God will raise mankind for Judgement. The trials and tribulations of Qiyâmah are detailed in both the Qur’an and the Hadith, as well as in the commentaries of the Islamic expositors and scholarly authorities. Every human, Muslim and non-Muslim alike, is held accountable for his or her deeds and are judged by God accordingly (Qur’an 74.38).


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *